Letters: Pruda Erway and Mortier Lafayette Wickham

Miss Prudence Erway
Hector Schuyler Co. NY
October 12/64
Respected friend
Pardon me for taking this unwarr___able liberty; or even dar_ to presume upon the re___ion of these few lines w___ I am now about to addre___ to you.  I am fully aware that I am almost an entire stranger; and that in taking this liberty I am infringing upon the established rules of Etiquette – but I hope you will receive them as from a friend: one who is your well wisher and one in whom you can affy.  Allow me here to state that with the limited acquaintance I have had the pleasure of forming with you I have been very much pleased – and I beg you will grant me the privilege of an ectension of that acquaintance  through the medium of correspondence.
Allow me further to state that in making this propsition to you I am not prompted by those objects which predominate with so many; namely, that of trifling, Flattering or coquetting; for they are principles which I do not countenance and much less would I wish to cultivate them.
If this proposition should meet with your approbation please to drop a few lines to me, if not will you be so kind as to commit this to the flames and I will ever remain your
True and sincere friend
Mortier L. Wickham
[Ink blot hides some words]
—–
To Mortier L Wickham at Hector
Harrison Valley
Potter Co Pa
Nov 1th 1864
Dear Sir
I reisved your letter of the 12 inst it came to hand 22th  I admit I was some what Surprised on resiveing a Note from you  I resived your Letter with mutch Plesure and was pleased to hear from the country that I was so happy to see this Autom, I thought you mint have said one wne word about Uncle Ricelys People?  But then I may look for some news in my next that is if you will write.  I will be pleased to hear from you if convenient
This is from a Friend
Pruda Erway
—–
To Miss Pruda Erway
Hector Schuyler Co NY
Dec 25/64
Dear Friend
Your kind favor came to hand in due time affording me much pleasure to know that my letter was received and met with that spirit of approbation which it was intended.  Though I have neglected answering I trust when you are acquainted with the circumstances you will treasure no hardness toward me for so doing.  When I wrote to you first we were all enjoying the society of a kind an affectionate father though old age had made him childish and almost a cripple yet a kind and affectionate heart as ever beat still throbbed in his breast.  But the cold icy hands of death have seised and taken him away carried him to those realms from whence no traveler returns though friends may condole and sympathize yet there is a vacancy a vacancy which no other person upon the broad serface of the earth could fill – but this is the way of all living – a few short years may glide away when we too shall have passed in the future of Eternity.  You spoke of Ricely people in your letter; they are usualy well – at least were when I saw them last a few days since.  They do not know that I have had a letter from Harrison Valley & I do not wish they may as I should soon be a hobby for them to crack thier jokes.  Ricely has spoken of going to see your father & family but I can not say he will.  If he should do not let him know of our correspondence if you can help it..  As today is Christmas I must wish you a happy day & should like to knw if you got anything in your stocking  I was up quite late but found an ectra pair of socks in my boots this morning.  We are having lively times with the mite parties for Christmas and New Year trees.  One came off at North Hector last night and we are going to have one o New Years Eve at the Church in Peach Orchard where we attended service – If I get a present I will let you know if I dare to.
I remain your Affectionate friend
Mortier L. Wickham
—–
Harrison January 3 [or 5] 1865
Mr. Wickham
Dear Friend
Once more I am seated endevering to penn a few lines to you knowing not that you will aprove of the lines.
I received a letter from you some time ago and as you requested me to answer if it should meet my mind so I did but have not received eny answer yet and as I have no correspondence to meat I thought I would write again thinking there must be some mistake in the adress that it had not reached you I trust I am safe in considering you to noble to be trifleing in this meter.
if you have changed your mind since you writen to me pleas to let me know but if you think it agreable to write I should be happy to heare from you and if not pleas commit this to the flames
and oblige
your
Friend Pruda Erway
—–
Hector  Jan 20th 1865
Miss Pruda Erway
Dear friend
Your kind letter came to hand a few days after it was mailed affording me much pleasure to know that you had not forgotten my request you so kindly granted, though I had given you a strong provocation to believe I had.  I wrote a letter to you on Christmas with the expectation of mailing it the next day but I was taken sick and was only able to sit up when your letter came to hand – but through the blessing of Providence I am once more enjoying the privilege of rambleing round the house and traveling more or less in the yards.  I could without doubt have sent the letter to the office by some of my friends but this you know would have given them the key to have unlocked this whole affair – I will mail the old letter trusting that you will glance over its few lines which will give you the reasons for my wishing to keep this a secret and also for my not having written you befor.
After my father’s death for a long time I had no desire to converse; visit; write or correspond with the most dear friends I had on earth;- still I wished for the company in many of the lonly hours that have passed while they will always be remembered by me as the most meloncholy of life; but this dose not eccuse me for not having written to you sooner after any making the request and you so kindly granting – but I trust you will not sensure me harshly this time under the circumstances for I will endevor to be more prompt in the future for let me assure you that it was never my intention to manifest or show any ungallantry or disrespect in this matter for I trust I have to much respect not only for myself but for all ladies to trifle with their affections.  You may rest assured when I wish to close this correspondence you will be respectively notified or if you have any desire to do so I trust you will respect me by doing the same   as it is quite late in the evening & for want of paper I will close for this time.  I thot if it is pleasant tomorrow I will go to Watkins & I will mail this letter.  I remain
Your affectionate friend
Mortimer L. Wickham
—–
To Mortier L. Wickham
Harrison June 1th 65
Dear Friend
I resieved your letter of the 7, and I was happy to hear from you  I am well and enjoying good health here in Harrison  The weather is pleasant and that keeps one in good cheer  My People are well at present  My Pa had his Sholder put out of Joint the 27 of May but he had it Set so it does not Pain him eny now
you said you thought you cold git time to come out heare a bout the 4 of July  I would be very happy indeed to see you out here  I will look for you and you must come  you said you had so mutch work to do that you could not get a way  you must remember your self and not Work to hard.  I look for My Brother home from the Army___ every day now  I will be pleased to have him come
I intended to had some Photographs taken before this time but the Smallpox has been rageing so that I darst not venture down  Although, I will send you a Pens it is not a good Picture  it was very rainy when they were taken  My hand trembles so I will bring these Poorly written lines to a close
So good day
write soon
from your friend Pruda A Erway
—–
To Miss Pruda Erway
Harrisonvalley
Pa
Hector July 2d 1865
My Dear Friend
I received your kind favor last evening and was very much pleased to hear from you once more – “as circumstances would not admit of your writing sooner” you certainly are excusable.  I find it is quite difficult for me to write without somebody will mistrust but I care not so much for that if they do not learn where and to whom they are going.  I must say that I agree with your Brother in respect to your choice “that you are hard to suit” that is if you discarded all of those Gents But allow me to say that decision of mind is what I admire in either man or woman  with out desision what would we all be – why we would be wafted around from here to there as the straws in the summer breeze – we would be deprived of one of the most important principles that form the mind – but alas how many are there that are deficient in this important principle.  I received the letter that contained the Gam soon after I wrote the last letter prior to this one for which I tender you my most grateful thanks – If found in Europe I should have known from whose countenance it received its impression.  For some time past I have thought I would try and come to Harrison this Summer but I shall have to give up the Ideas for the present.  I have thought for some time past I would try and come up the 4th but this Idea I must give up & you must pardon me for so doing as circumstances would not admit of my leaving.  As far as the 4 is concerned you will get along full as well if not better than if I was there – select from some of those Gents and make thier hearts happy and they will enjoy themselves & I think you might do so & when you write let me know.  I can not promise when I will come to Harrison for certainty but I will say this much I will come before winter  I hope some time in September – but rest assured that it is not because I would not wish to come sooner.  Ricely arrived home all safe.  I was there last Sabbath & Eliza showed me some cakes of Maple Sugar for the children that came from your hands.  I should thought you would sent me one but I must close as I am running short for paper & you will have your patience tried in trying to read this much so I guess I had better stop for the present
Yours with respect and love
Mortier L. Wickham
—–
To Miss Pruda A. Erway
Harrisonvalley Pa.
Hector Aug 20th 1865
My dear friend Pruda
Your kind and interesting favor was received some time since with much pleasure – as I have been very busy for some time past I have negglected answering up to the present date – at the time of receiving your letter I had a very severe attact of Neuralagy in the face which lasted some days and detained me from work so that I have only succeeded in finishing my harvesting & haying this last week – but I have one consolation I am not the last one as there are a goodly number that are not through yet.  You mentioned in your past of a Picknic that was to take place soon and a wish for me to be present – let me assure you I should have been much pleased to have been there but I did not get the letter in time & if I had it would have been almost impossible for me to have attended  But I trust you attended and had a good time perhaps enjoyed yourself as well as though I had been there.  You mentioned the name of Jackson Dunham is this the same man or Jackson Dunham that once resided in Hector?  If it is, I think I have seen him.  If you have _____; or are fond of Music you undoubtedly will make good progress in music as a general rule this is the test though I am very fond of music still I profess to know but little in regard to it.  There is nothing more cheering to me when lonely and cast down than music.  I consider it one of the highest accomplishments of a lady and one of the most plesant past times we can enjoy.  You also mentioned in one of your letters if I read rightly that your Parents did not know of our corresponding.  do you think they would object if they were aware of it?  If so please to inform me what you think would be thier wishes in regard to our corresponding.  You said you should look for me in September I will not promise you when I will come for certain but sometime between now and winter as I shall have more or less fruit to attend to – Peaches for my mother which will keep me through September I think it will be October before I can leave home.  I wish you could be here whill peaches were ripe as I believe you would enjoy yourself if you are fond of them which I have no doubt all good girls are.  The peach crop is light this fall but still we could get what we wanted 25 ____ and the trees are quite full of those sweet pears we had last fall and if you think best I will send you a large one in a letter providing the envelope will carry it and I will seal it as close as you seal your letters of late as I perseive you do not intend any person shall read them but me – which is all right as I must admit I love to send letters – especially those that are directed to me & I like to read them before anyone after which I try and take care they do not get them  But I guess I have written enough of this fol-de-rol as I shall weary your patience in trying to read it so I will close by sending you my love and best wishes
Your friend
M. L. Wickham
—–
To Mortier L Wickham
of Hector NY
Harrison Valley Potter Co Pa Sept 5th 1865
My Dear Friend,
I am much Gratifide to inform You, Your kind favor were received with much pleasure  it found me enjoying my self we’ll hoping these few lines will find you the same in good cheer it is very pleasant today and while here alone I thought I would answer Your letter being it the first time or chance since receiving your last
Pa received a letter from Uncle Ricely  he has not given up a farm I preceive in Harrison  Mr. Bustis has given up selling his but there are other chances here perhaps would suit him there being so many wanting to go west  I have just succeded in finishing our spining last weak  Ma has the last peace in the loom  You spoke of Jackson Dunham whether he once resided in Hector  he did  he married one of Homer Smith Daughters Rachell Smith  she has been very sick  she has gon up to Moxton [?] perhaps will remain for some days  it has been very sickly here in this place this summer  I attended a funeral last Sabbath at Westfield  Ma has been under the doctors care since I wrote you last
You wrote about sending me a pear but I think I should prefer it from your hand  I also should be very happy to visit your peach orchard but circumstances would hardly permit me to.  You also wished to know what was my Parents wishes in regard to our corespondence  they have not objected of our corespondence yet  if I have writen they new not of it  it was a mistake but when Pa gets to driveing some of his Jokes (I most wish) he new not of it
You think do you you cannot Visit Harrison this month your on excusable hoping you will inform me about what time you think you can come and we will have an apple parring bee while you are here
well I guess you will get tired by the time you get this red so I will close wishing You to excuse all Mistakes and poor writing
My love and best wishes to You
This from Your Friend
P A Erway
please write when convenient
—–
To Mortier L. Wickham
Sunday afternoon, Harrison Nov 12th 1865
Dear and Respected Friend
Once more I am seated endeavering to penn a few lines in answer to your kind letter which was wellcombly received last evening it found me well enjoying home pleasures allthough I was somewhat disapointed in reguard to seeing you last evening but was sorry to heare of yours   though sickness we must all share all is well.  it has been very sickly in this place this fall till since cooler weather in the Town of Brookfield Tioga Co Pa there were 64 people last week under the doctors care.  it was said there were not well ones enough to take care of the sick  my Brother has just returned from Church  I did not attend as I had another letter to finish so I could send them out tomorrow morning at Whites Corners
Uncle Ricely thinks of changeing climate dos he, he has given up setling in Harrison then I supose
I have been absent from home a couple weaks down to the Valley staying with Reachell Dunham while Jack went out home he has not come yet  he is going to bring his Mother to live with him out here  he intends to teach Singing School soon as he gets back if he keeps his health
you spoke of coming out on the cars if I wee knew what time we would be happy to meet you at Westfield if you should come on Saturday to Westfield you could come to the Valley with the Stage well as it is getting quite late I will hafto being this to a close it is so Noisy here it will take a Fairy to read this  McKinneys children and ours make much musick  if you can make it convenient of you to write before you come to Harrison I should be happy to hear from you  this is all at preasent  take good care of you Mother and oblige
Your Affectionate Friend
Pruda A. Erway
—–
Miss P. A. Erway
Hector Nov 20th 1865
My Dear Friend
I received your kind letter the third day after it was mailed.  I was much pleased to hear that you were well and enjoying yourself with the music of children – though I think myself they do not add very essentialy to the construction of a letter – especially when they are jumping from one side of the room to the other.  I suppose you have enjoyed this pleasant weather in visiting as that appears to be the principle employment of most of the people here these days although this has not been the case with me – I have been busy in finishing my falls work.  I have about finished with the ecception of securing my potatoes from frost to cribbing my corn.  I suppose I shall have to help Ricely and my sister move  he expects to begin tomorrow – If he dose this will afford me another very pleasant time as it is business I have served quite an apprenticeship and if you know anything in regard to it you certainly know it is very pleasant.  Ricely has bought the homestead or the larger portion & I take the remainder  I do not know but what I shall feel lost after having the sole charge and care of a family so long (for nearly four years) and now to be discharged from that responsibility as I said I do not know but what I feel as if I had lost my home.  But I will try it to see how it appears to be young once more.  Mother is getting better slowly & if nothing should occur she will soon be around the house once more.  As quick as I can get my sister and some other business matters arranged I am coming out – (which depend some on the weather) which I hope will not take but a few days – I may come the last of next week but more probable week after & possible I may not come before the 8th or 10th of Dec but I think I shall.  I thank you very much for your kind favor in the proposition of meeting me at Westfield – it would be making your people to much trouble.  As it is getting late I will close.
Yours with Affection
M.L. Wickham
—–
Hector Dec 17th 1865 Sunday eav
Most Dear and affectionate friend
Agreeable to my promise and to your request I hasten to pen a few lines to you.  I will first give you a short sketch of journey home. – after leaving your fathers that afternoon I proceeded as far as Westfield & stopped overnight took the Stage the next morning at 7 o clock & arrived at Elkland before noon; after dinner proceeded on my way & arrived at Addison in time for 3 o clock train going East.  arrived at Elmira in time for the Canandaigua train left Elmira at 15 minutes past 6 and arrived at Watkins half past 7 and walked 7 miles and got home about half past 9 – found Ricely and Eliza at mothers.  They were nearly satisfied where I had been but I tried to make them believe they did not know.  I suppose you would like for me to give you an answer in refference to my coming out.  I have thought the matter over and have come to the conclusion if convenient for you, to start 4 weeks from tomorrow morning which would be Monday I think the 15 of January.  I would get to Westfield Tuesday about night – Thursday I should like to start for home if it would be agreeable for you.  It may be that I shall have to change the time – if so I will let you know in season  I shall expect an answer from this as soon as you receive it.  After receiving your letter there will be time for you to get another from me I think; which will fully decide the day and give you ample time to invite your friends and all other you choose – I trust you will not think that I wanted to dictate you in regard to this as I should be pleased to have all your friends and all others you see proper to ectend an invitation to.  My principle object in the first was to make your people as little trouble as possible – But they know best what course would please them & any course upon which you and they can agree will suit me – the hour of the day or eave you must appoint for you know far better than I do which
[the rest of the letter is missing.]
—–
Hector Dec 31st 1865 Affectionate
and loving friend
I received your kind letter last night after returning from my brothers.  I was very anxious to here from you as I did not know for certain as to the time I proposed would be acceptable to you.  I went to Elmira on Christmas to see what I could do in respect to clothes.  I got cloth for coat and some other articles I needed.  In respect to Gloves I will procure two pair as near the same color as I can and if possible of light color.  I will at your request adopt black for color of vest as it is optional with me as far as color is concerned only I have black at present which I can use for that purpose.  I admire the color you have chosen as I have always considered Blue as the most modest and prepossessing of the whole seven colors.
As my Brothers & thier wives are here I have come up chamber also to write and I am getting so cold I can scarcely hold the pen.  In respect to the hour you have spoken of it will suit me as well if not better than any other you could have selected.  My Sister Martha may come with me possibly as she intimated to me today that she would like to go very much and if so I should be pleased to have her.  I most cordialy accept of the kind proposition you made in refference to meeting me at Westfield – But I am fearful it will be making your Brothers to much trouble.  I shall leave home on Monday the 15th of January and get to Westfield on Tuesday between 3 and 4 o clock unless some unforeseen accident should occur I will be at your fathers on Tuesday eve 16th.  I came very near being caught by my brother a few moments since.  Write as soon as you get this and I will have time to get before I come  I shall remember the promise you made in your letter when I come
So good by
Your loving and affectionate friend
M.L. Wickham
[In very faded ink:]
P.S. s was driven from my quarters while writing & not having wrote all I wanted I posponed till tonight  I am writing upon a _____ in Havana where I can write without being disturbed  I came up with my brother last evening & have been to work most of the day although there is & has been a Wedding party there most of the day.  A Nephew of mine my eldest brother’s son was married last Thursday & are visiting at my brother George’s with a number of my friends.  I made an _____ to the village and got away from them.  They were very sly with the wedding but I think we will succeed in surprising them full more unless they are sharper than I think they are.  For the last eight or ten days we have had more weddings than for a number of years within the same time.  Everybody is getting married  Well I suppose I had or should not say anything.  Well for you that my paper is about scribbled over.  As today is New Years I must wish you a happy year.
At least I hope it may prove so to us both.  Take good care of yourself – be conscious about taking cold my dear girl & I trust we will have a pleasant time – So good night.  this pen
Your dearest friend
M.L.W.
—–
M L Wickham
Harrison January 6th 1866
Affectionate Friend
I received your latest favor a few moments since and as I have but little time before the male goes east I hasten to answer  I am at my Brothers  I have been since Tuesday last changeing work with my sister helping her sew  she is preparing to go home the last of this month if her Parents does not come to Harrison  I agreed with you to not tell when this came of but Brother Jonas said if I would tell he would get married at the same time but not under the same Seramonia  he intends soon as I leave to come home and help work the place  he seems to feel bad to have me go away so far  I havent seen him shed tears ever as I know untill I told him when I should go
I must tell you what I got a New Years Eve  I found a silk dress, and a Skain of yarn  My sister Olive presented the yarn
You spoke of your sister coming with you  I should be much pleased with her company  I dont intend to invite my friends untill the afternoon before  My brother will be happy to meet you at Westfield the 16th
as the Maill is expected, I shall hafto bring this poor composed and poorly writen letter to a close hoping you will oblige me this time  I would like to write more if I had the time
So good by
this is from your True friend Pruda
of Harrison Pa
[Pruda and Mortier were married January 17th, 1866.
Retyped by T. Kolberg 7/28/2013 from earlier transcription in possession of the Wickham Family Reunion folks.  I don’t know where the originals are.]

This entry was posted in Stories and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.